It’s always exciting to find ourselves exploring new areas of underground bass & tech music, with so many labels using the 2020-2021 period to realign their focus and put together a vast array of incredible catalogues. In our eyes, the quality within the scene has never been stronger, and what better way to showcase that widespread quality than a look at a brand new spicy compilation drop.

Primitive - Unity
Primitive – Unity

In general, compilations can go either way. Sometimes when we get sent over big playlists full of bass tracks or forgettable tech singles, the vast majority of them aren’t needed or necessary to improve the releases overall quality and unfortunately find themselves involved for quantities sake. However, every now and then we find ourselves stumbling across a golden lootbox of bassy goodness, which is exactly what the Primitive team have supplied us with today as they unveil their killer new ‘Unity’ selection. The run the Primitive team find themselves on is pretty impressive, seemingly being yet to drop the ball in either quality of consistency on their already vast catalogue.

They have gathered a top tier collection of talent to unleash their harmonious vision and we were lucky enough to snare a few premieres from the release!

Kicking off with a weighty, chord driven collaboration from Sam Regalo & Elliot Keith entitled ‘Carouser’ which sets the pace nicely, with the more reesey bass structures of DNL!’s ‘Pump The Volume’ and the stripped back bass curdles of CON X-SHN’s ‘Limit’:

Next up, the project dives down a much more bass-driven route as the sizzling synthy shivers of Biohzrd’s ‘UFO’:

Next we see SILK & Milazzo’s ‘Take Me’ pushing those more raucous themes even further:

We then finish up with a wicked triplet of solo originals, with Papps arriving firstly with a bubbling roller by the name of ‘Shady’, which takes tidy vocal slices and gloopy bass bounces and forms a catchy jig:

This is followed by the siren-like synth action and skippy drum work of ‘Viper’ from Hot Goods:

The finale sees Trickstar Radio‘s own RWB deliver a squelchy slap with ‘Forgotten’, putting some perfect final touches of a masterfully assembled body of work from the Primitive team.

You can check out the full compilation below:

Beatport/Spotify – 25/06/21
Full Release – 09/07/21
1) Sam Regalo & Elliot Keith – Carouser
2) DNL! – Pump The Volume
3) CON X-SHN – Limit
4) Biohzrd – UFO 
5) Silk Ft. Milazzo – Take Me
6) Papps – Shady
7) Hot Goods – Viper
8) RWB – Forgotten

Unity’ is out now, download from Beatport here

Follow: Primitive